Oh my god. It's full of code!

Visual Force Blows

Edit: I was young and dumb, and very angry when I posted this. Also, I was mostly wrong. Some stuff is still way over verbose, and pretty frustrating with visulforce and Apex, but I’m getting it more. I’m removing this article for the following reasons.

A) Because I no longer feel the way I did when I posted it
B) It was immature and written as a knee jerk reacting  after much frustration.
C) I’m honestly ashamed

Sorry if it looks like I’m being a coward, but I don’t need a stupid post written in haste and rage following me around for the rest of my life. Forgive and forget ya’ll.

One response

  1. Heh, heh. Wow! So, “to be fair”, if I understand the CF code, that will produce a list of hyperlinks, right? And, if I can follow your “crappy” Apex/Visualforce you are defining a menu with sub-menu items, right? Ignoring the number of lines of code for a minute, I respectfully submit for your consideration the following bits of Apex/Visualforce:

    public class WebsiteMenu {
    public List menuItems {
    get {
    if (menuItems == null) {
    menuItems = [Select Id, Page_Title__c, Action__c (Select Id, Page_Title__c, Action__c From Sub_Menus) From WebSite_Data__c];
    }
    return menuItems;
    } set; }

    }

    {!items.Page_Title__c}

    {!subs.Page_Title__c}

    Making assumptions about how your data is stored that may not be correct, but this should illustrate an “other” way to do that code.

    Cheers!

    January 11, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Leave a Reply

