Oh my god. It's full of code!

Salesforce going overboard on governor limits

This is more just a venting post than anything truly useful, so if you are looking for some helpful information, tips or tricks, your are just as out of luck as I am.

First let me say, I understand governor limits, and I think they are a decent idea. They force you to code efficiently, and make sure the platform remains stable for everyone. It’s a good practice and I think with some more refining it would be an awesome tool. There is however, a problem.

Salesforce has gone completely over the deep end with their governor limits. It’s to the point where even very efficient code that makes as few database hits as possible still cannot run because of arbitrary restrictions. If you are writing your code as lean as possible, governor limits shouldn’t even really need be considered. They should be there to stop insane loops, or out of control code. More and more I am finding that even well written, bulk safe code is butting up against these limits. There are some projects I have simply had to scrap because there was no way to make them run within the rules.

For the amount of money we pay Salesforce it seems they could scale their architecture to handle some more advanced queries and larger data sets. Hell google can stream video to every last internet connection on earth free to the end user, but yet Salesforce, backed by Oracle, paid handsomely by subscribers can’t get users the data they own in a reliable easy fashion. I’m not talking about moving gigs at a time here either. 100,000 rows shouldn’t be anything. A million rows should still be within reason. I’m just tired of fighting all the time to get anything done. Some companies deal with large volumes of data. It happens. Deal with it. We pay you to deal with it. If it was just me having problems I’d say fine, I suck I’m a moron, and maybe I am. At the same time, I don’t think I’m the only one tired of fighting, sneaking, tricking and compromise to get work done. Programming is hard enough ya know? For being an enterprise application, they sure seem to have problems handling enterprise levels of data.

Anyway, that’s my rant. I’m done. Please remember I am understand governor limits and I am okay with them, I think they just need to be loosened up a little. Maybe let the user set the limits. Say okay, this trigger should never pull more than 500,000 records, if it does, then you can throw an error. Am I crazy? I am the only one having these issues? If so, I’ll suck it up and admit I suck. But I really don’t think that is the case, this time.

3 responses

  1. Hii,

    i really do agree with you … great work .. i also voice the same opinion .. 🙂

    November 8, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    • Glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks so. It’s annoying, you do everything right and still get burned. For a recent trigger it was so big I had to do async @future calls, but then hit the limit for how many at future calls can be made. It’s enough to drive you insane I tell ya.

      November 8, 2010 at 3:36 pm

  2. yes i think salesforce is good enough for small scale projects.

    March 23, 2013 at 4:42 am

Leave a Reply

