Oh my god. It's full of code!

Salesforce MVP Nomination

Hey all,
So my boss recently came in my office and said I should look into becoming a Salesforce MVP. Not sure if he knows you need to be nominated for that kind of thing, but none the less I am going to give it a shot. Basically it is a program that Salesforce runs that recognizes people who have helped the force.com community. You can read more about it here. So anyway, if you read my blog and have found it helpful, or have worked with me in some other capacity and think I am deserving, please take a moment and nominate me. All you have to do is send an email to info@developerforce.com with ‘MVP Nomination’ in the subject line. It would probably be good to put some contact information in there, so you can of course use my twitter name ‘Kenji776’ or my email ‘Kenji776@gmail.com’. Also you could probably toss a link to this blog in there so they can read more about me if they want. I would be most grateful to anyone who would be willing to help me out. And yes, I promise I’ll have some more actual useful content soon 😛 Thanks everyone!

5 responses

  1. From one MVP to someone looking to be I would hope that you’re active in the community and considered to be representing the top 1% of the Salesforce/Force.com Community. These are the ingredients to be nominated, not an Email requesting nomination. Hopefully you are hugely active so we can welcome you to the club. 🙂

    June 22, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    • I am fairly active in the twitter community and post on the boards some. I contribute what I can through my blog and try to help my fellow developers. I won’t lie, I don’t probably do as much as many others but I certainly try to be useful when I can. The MVP page had a link that brought you to a page where you could email in a nomination, hence the reason I posted it. If I was mistaken then I will correct it. Thank you for your kind wishes!

      June 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      • Awesome! Yeah a mix of Twitter, DeveloperForce Boards and Blogs will definitely get you visible by those making the decisions 🙂

        June 22, 2011 at 10:09 pm

  2. Posting to boards with a goal of becoming an MVP is like going to war with the goal of getting a congressional medal of honor. However, if someone works hard, is active in the community, builds genuine relationships and helps those in need, and has the best interest of the community at heart, they may make it. Being an MVP, I was honored to be selected and will keep working hard to help people. The status of MVP is only a side effect of the enjoyment of helping people, not an end goal.

    Part of the joy is being able to help other people better themselves and become better professionals, and I encourage you to do everything that you can to get involved, just make sure you are doing it for the right reasons.

    Best of luck and I look forward to seeing you in the twitterverse. -Garry

    June 23, 2011 at 3:00 am

  3. Gary, you are absolutely correct. I have always enjoyed just helping people when I can, not doing it for recognition. In fact this is the first I’ve really heard of the MVP, and I am only perusing at the nudging of my boss. If what I posted was in bad taste I will of course immediately issue a retraction statement. I already feel a bit sheepish about the whole thing. I was only trying to mention to those at large that there is such a thing as a salesforce MVP (if i didn’t know about it, maybe others didn’t) and that I wouldn’t mind be nominated for such a thing. Of course I only encourage those who actually think I have done anything worth while to nominate. I am no freeloader and I absolutely will not take anything I don’t deserve. Thank you for your words of wisdom and I’ll look forward to seeing you around!

    June 23, 2011 at 3:14 am

Leave a Reply

