Oh my god. It's full of code!

Art Meets Text Mashup Cloudspokes challenge

Well, just turned in my entry for the titular challenge. Was right down to the wire too. I felt like I was pretty pressed for time here, pretty much started working as soon as I heard about and just stopped tweaking it now. This one was a lot of fun to build, and I learned a fair amount about data storage, base64 and had my first run in with HTML5 canvas. I think I’m going to enjoy playing with that in the future. The lesson here was ‘keep it simple stupid’. At one point I was going to create a proxy that got an image and used javascript to convert it to base64 on the fly to overcome some security issue with canvas (canvas has the same kind of security as ajax, where cross domain stuff can cause problems, in particular if you use load an image into the canvas from a remote host, then attempt to base64 encode the canvas, that doesn’t work). Of course when I stopped being stupid for like 5 minutes I realized the file data was already in force.com I could just write a method to extract the base64 encoded content using the encodingUtil class. Anyway, I know this sound more like a rant than anything useful, so I’ll just shut up and post the video.

http://xerointeractive.com/Art_Mashup_Challenge.swf

Also, if you want to play with it it is here

http://xerointeractive-developer-edition.na9.force.com/partyForce/artMash

though it may be down due to being over the bandwidth limit.

One response

  1. I really like it when people come together and share views.
    Great blog, keep it up!

    October 17, 2012 at 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

