Oh my god. It's full of code!

Cloudspokes Challenge jQuery Clone and Configure Records

Hey everyone,
Just wrapped up another CloudSpokes contest entry. This one was the clone and configure records (with jQuery) challenge. The idea was to allow a user to copy a record that had many child records attached, then allow the user to easily change which child records where related via a drag and drop interface. I have a bit of jQuery background so I figured I’d give this a whack. The final result I think was pretty good. I’d like to have been able to display more information about the child records, but the plugin i used was a wrapper for a select list so the only data available was the label. Had I had more time I maybe could have hacked the plugin some to get extra data, or maybe even written my own, but drag and drop is a bit of a complicated thing (though really not too bad with jQuery) so I had to use what I could get in the time available. Anyway, you can see the entry below.

jQuery Clone and Configure Record

2 responses

  1. Jay-Nicolas

    Nice work – it ticks me off that they haven’t built in multi-tier cloning yet…

    The issue you are having with VF sounds like you need to set the page redirect to true. That flushes the viewstate via GET.

    January 25, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  2. Jerry

    Very nice. Any chance you’d be open to sharing the code?

    February 25, 2012 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

