Oh my god. It's full of code!

Salesforce Custom Calendar with jQuery and Visualforce

Hey all,

I know I’ve been promising a new calendar for a while, and I’m sorry it’s taken so long. I didn’t quite know how in depth I wanted to go, and how much stuff I should build. I finally just decided to release a nice simple framework for other developers to build on. This is based on the super awesome excellent jQuery fullCalendar plugin by Adam Shaw. What this allows you to do is create full calendar records (a custom object). Each record represents a calendar. Each calendar has a source object, a start and end field, and a list of detail fields. When the calendar is loaded, it then queries the specified object for all records with a start date and end date falling in the visible range of the calendar. When an event is clicked a popup box appears with further information that is configurable on the fullcalendar record.

All the more configuration that is needed to create a calendar

Sample popup info when event is clicked


Click here for a demo (go to December 2011 to see some sample events).

You can grab the unmanaged package here

Or just grab the raw project and source from here (first time hosting a file on box.net, we’ll see how this goes).

Anyway, I hope this helps some people who are looking for a simple calendar system, or one to build on. I’m happy to review suggestions and ideas, but I can’t commit to getting anything done. Hope ya dig it!

24 responses

  1. Kyle Peterson

    Very excited to try this out! I’ve been wanting to do something like this for a while since I’m always frustrated seeing ads for CalendarAnything but don’t want to pay for it. Thanks for taking the time to make this. I wish this was built in to Salesforce.

    January 18, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    • Cool, hope it works out for you. It’s pretty basic right now, but I may add to it in the future.

      January 18, 2012 at 8:34 pm

      • Kejin thank’s for your code!

        But i have a problem in the test stage, the problem is:

        the visualforce don’t execute the method getEvents.

        What is the problem?

        I don’t know and you?

        Help me please.

        March 11, 2012 at 3:14 am

    • Anonymous

      hi, please i need to install the package but it s become obsolete.can you help me to have an operationnal version.thanks a lot

      June 29, 2012 at 9:16 am

  2. Ben

    Nice work! =)

    January 19, 2012 at 4:12 am

  3. vinoth

    Not able to install this package in my salesforce account. I am not able to use this. What i have to do?

    February 14, 2012 at 10:35 am

    • Wow, thanks for you entry!

      If problem is the package on salesforce appexchange.
      the solution is easy! download flie war, and copy paste all conten in new project eclipse or copy paste source in yor custom configuration.

      March 9, 2012 at 11:14 pm

  4. Nana

    Was trying to install this in my dev sandbox and am getting this error: AppExchange Package is Deprecated. Please try installing a newer version, or contact the package owner directly to resolve. Is there a newer version I can grab?

    April 9, 2012 at 4:01 pm

  5. Don

    Thanks for the calendar post I’m excited to use it. I’ve been trying to get it to work but no success. No errors but no entries are shown on the calendar.. I’m new at this but I noticed using the sources you provided the page call to the ‘GetEvents’ function has a different parm list than shown in the controller. Any chance you could review the sources posted and give me a hint or 2 ? Any help would be much appreciated…

    May 7, 2012 at 11:03 pm

  6. unable to deploy to the org from eclipse showing error —unable to deploy-no deployable resources found

    May 21, 2012 at 11:52 am

  7. vishnu

    The calender is showing blank,

    October 8, 2012 at 6:22 am

    • Bummer. Any errors, javascript or otherwise? Also that calendar system is pretty old and I can’t say I’m really ‘supporting’ it. I do have a much newer more powerful version, but it is a for pay solution. If you really need a calendar, we can talk. Right now I’m just pricing it as $1000 flat fee as many users, as many orgs as you want. Supports coloring, filtering, and lots of other cool stuff.

      October 11, 2012 at 4:02 pm

  8. Amine

    Hi kenji776,

    I am interested with your “more powerful” calendar.

    Is there a way to try it ? Or a video or something ?

    As you know, in order to have my superior validate any acquisition in the org, I have to prove that it’s worthy.

    Thank in advance and feel free to contact me.

    March 26, 2013 at 1:25 pm

  9. Amine

    Kenji776,

    Does your calendar have some kind of “multi user view ” ? The default SF multi view is useless since it doesn’t shrink to fit, making horizontal scrolling really annoying.

    Thank you.

    March 26, 2013 at 1:44 pm

  10. charlie lang

    hi. i’m getting this error – is there an updated link?

    Package install error
    There are problems that prevent this package from being installed.

    October 3, 2013 at 10:14 am

  11. arnaud

    hi Kenji, this stuff looks great but i cannot get your app to work. i created everything (objects code and pages) and have been testing with several custom objects but nothing.

    i dont mean to be rude but something is not working in your code. i check the source code of the calendar everytime and it does not list any events.

    i am keen to get this working and also to see any paid version if needed. i like the extra features you put in such as filtering and styling.

    can you please respond with why your code does not work or show me your latest solution ?

    Thanks

    October 4, 2013 at 3:07 am

  12. Anonymous

    tried installing the package..but in vain…..kindly upload the newer version

    December 16, 2013 at 6:21 am

  13. Fred

    Nice one. There is a slight error in the code thought, more/not the same parameters are sent to the controller than it expects which turns into a js error. So in order to get it to work you’ll have to either change line 12 in the controller “global static list getEvents(id calendarId, double queryStart, double queryEnd)” or line 48 in the VF page “fullCalendarController.getEvents(objectType, startField, endField, getEpochMillis(start),getEpochMillis(end), detailDataFields, function(result, event”

    February 26, 2014 at 7:13 am

  14. Karima

    Hi. I can’t install it. Can you help me please?
    I’ve this error: The AppExchange package has been deprecated and can no longer be installed. Please try installing a newer version, or contact the package owner directly to resolve.
    Thanks.

    May 12, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    • Sorry, this package is no longer available (due to possibility of turning it into a paid app). I’ll post here if I decide to make it available in the future.

      May 12, 2014 at 7:40 pm

  15. Tyler Rendlman

    Whatever happened to this tool? I would be interested in seeing if I could use it for an issue I am having…

    March 8, 2016 at 8:30 pm

    • I ended up selling off my rights to it, so I don’t have it anymore. Sorry!

      April 19, 2016 at 8:07 pm

  16. Mayank

    Great work!
    But I want same custom calendar but in Lightning and I want date wise account names in calendar with a custom field named “Start Date”.

    December 4, 2017 at 11:29 am

    • Well you better get to work then.

      December 4, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Leave a Reply

