Oh my god. It's full of code!

Automating Things That Should Already Be Automated With Selenium and Node.js

So I had invited my parents over a while back, and it came up that I don’t often lock my front door. Of course being good parents they chided me about it saying that I should really do so. I really have no excuse because I even have an app that allows me to to it remotely (yay home automation) but the be honest I’m just forgetful when it comes to things like that. However I decided to heed their warning and do something about it. I decided if I was going to get diligent about locking my door, I couldn’t be the one in charge of actually doing it, I’d have to make a computer do it. The problem is, that while my home security provider does offer a web app, and a phone app for locking the door and a very basic ‘rule’ system (arm the panel when the door is locked, vice versa) there are no time based controls, so I’d still have to actually do something. Totally unacceptable.

After some investigation I found as I had figured that my security provider does not offer any sort of API. Nor would it be easy to try and replicate the post request that is send from the app to trigger the lock door command due to numerous session variables and cookies and things include unique to each login session. Nope, if I was going to automate this it seemed like I’d actually have to interact with the browser as much as the thought displeased me (I’m all for dirty hacks, but c’mon). At first I looked at python for a solution, but as seems to often be the case with python every discussion of a solution was disjointed with no clear path and generally unsatisfactory (sorry python). Instead I turned to Node to see what potential solutions awaited me there. After a bit of looking around I found Selenium for Node. While it’s obvious and stated focus was on automated web app testing, not intentional browser automation scripts I could see no reason it wouldn’t work.

Quickly I spun up a new Node project and used NPM to grab the Selenium package (even after many uses NPM still feels like some kind of magic after manually handling javascript libraries for so long). Followed the guide to getting the Selenium web drivers to work, which at first seemed a bit odd having to install executable on my system for a javascript package but it makes perfect sense in retrospect. After finding a basic Selenium tutorial I was ready to attempt to get my script to login to alarm.com’s web page. First I had to get the names of the inputs I wanted Selenum to fill. Of course chrome makes this easy, just right click, inspect element and snag the names of the inputs.

Finding the required name property is easy.

Finding the required name property is easy.

 

Then simply tell Selenium to populate the boxes and click the login button.

 

var driver = new webdriver.Builder().
withCapabilities(webdriver.Capabilities.firefox()).
build();
   
driver.get('https://www.alarm.com/login?m=no_session&ReturnUrl=/web/Automation/Locks.aspx');
driver.findElement(webdriver.By.name('ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$loginform$txtUserName')).sendKeys(username);
driver.findElement(webdriver.By.name('txtPassword')).sendKeys(password);
driver.findElement(webdriver.By.name('ctl00$ContentPlaceHolder1$loginform$signInButton')).click();

Thankfully just through dumb luck when creating this my session had timed out and I found out the login page accepted a return url parameter that it would direct the browser to after successful login. So now, if the login goes smoothly, the browser should be at the screen where I can control the locks. A different button is used to lock or unlock the door and only one is visible at a time. So writing my function in such a way that it accepted boolean ‘lock’ (where false would be unlock) param and then failing if it’s not able to find the button is a safe way to ensure I don’t unlock the door when I mean to lock it and vice versa.

driver.wait(function() {
	return driver.getTitle().then(function(title) {
		console.log('Toggling Door Status');
		if(lock)
		{
			driver.findElement(webdriver.By.name('ctl00$phBody$summaryRepeater$ctl00$lockButton')).click();
			lockResult.message = 'Lock request sent!';
		}
		else
		{
			driver.findElement(webdriver.By.name('ctl00$phBody$summaryRepeater$ctl00$unlockButton')).click();	
			lockResult.message = 'UnLock request sent!';					
		}
		lockResult.success = true;
		

		driver.quit();

		return lockResult;
	});
}, 1000);

 

I don’t know Selenium super well yet, but it seems that after the login button is clicked the driver waits until it can retrieve the title of the page (which is a easy way to tell the page has at least somewhat loaded) and when it has then run the inner logic for clicking the proper button.  Honestly I’m not totally sure, but it works and that’s the important thing 😛

I was actually a bit shocked when my little function worked. Calling it with the proper username and password actually made the door lock a few moments later, much to my dogs surprise as he sat napping in the living room (the little motor on that lock is kind of loud). Now the next peice of this puzzle was to invoke that function on a timer system. Locking the door at say, 11:00pm and unlocking at 8:00am. This turned out to require only your regular every day javascript, nothing fancy.

var lockHour = 23;
var unlockHour = 8;
var beenLockedToday = false;
var beenUnlockedToday = false;

var date = new Date();
var current_hour = date.getHours(); 
console.log('Checking current hour for lock status checks. Current hour is ' + current_hour  + ' Will automatically lock at ' + lockHour + ' and unlock at ' + unlockHour + ' listening on port ' + port);
	
function monitorLoop() {
	
	
	date = new Date();
	current_hour = date.getHours();       
	
	console.log('Checking local hour. It is ' + current_hour);
	
	if(current_hour >= lockHour && !beenLockedToday) 
	{
		console.log('Lock hour hit or passed and door has not been locked. Locking!!');
		toggleDoor(alarm_username,alarm_password,true);		
		beenLockedToday = true;
	} 
	if(current_hour == unlockHour && !beenUnlockedToday) 
	{
		console.log('Un-Lock hour hit!');
		toggleDoor(alarm_username,alarm_password,false);		
		beenUnlockedToday = true;
	}
	if(current_hour == 0)
	{
		console.log('Resetting lock status variables');
		beenLockedToday = false;
		beenUnlockedToday = false;		
	}

	setTimeout(monitorLoop,600000);

}

monitorLoop();

It’s just a function that is called via setInterval every hour. It checks the current hour against my two predefined lock and unlock times. I used a couple variables to track if the door has been locked or unlocked so if I reduce the time on the event loop it’s not attempting to lock/unlock the door every few minutes and wearing out the batteries on the motor. Obviously omitted from this is my alarm_username and alarm_password variables stored higher up in the script. With this event loop and the Selenium automation function I now have one less thing to worry about. Now if I could just find a Node.Js host that supported Selenium (damn you Heroku). So if anything, I’d say this is the take away: Don’t do manually what you can automate, and browser automation with Selenium is crazy easy. So easy that when it all worked I was almost disappointed that it seemed like I didn’t do anything.

Glorious event loop in action

Glorious event loop in action

Till next time!
-Kenji

Also, be sure to check out the addendum to this project in my next blog post where I added automatic operations with a geofence. https://iwritecrappycode.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/automating-things-that-should-already-be-automated-with-selenium-and-node-js/

10 responses

  1. Pingback: Even more Automation with Tasker and Geofencing | I Write Crappy Code

  2. Anonymous

    Kenji

    This is really.cool but jst a basic question in terms of selenium scripts deployment. Did u run on your desktop or remotely on some cloud

    October 23, 2015 at 1:05 am

    • I ran them all locally. I wasn’t able to find a cloud provider that supports selenium since it uses an executable for its web driver.

      October 23, 2015 at 1:19 am

  3. It’s also possible to run a python build of selenium on any simple linux server and cron your job 🙂

    October 27, 2015 at 9:10 pm

  4. Pingback: Making Alexa order me a pizza | I Write Crappy Code

  5. Awesome! Its in fact awesome article, I have got much clear idea regarding from this paragraph.

    November 26, 2016 at 8:07 am

  6. Thank you for some other wonderful post. The place else may just anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect
    method of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such info.

    February 18, 2017 at 12:13 am

  7. Nice respond in return of this issue with solid arguments and telling all concerning that.

    March 27, 2017 at 10:44 am

  8. Hі, just wanted to mention, I loved this post. It was funnʏ.

    Keep on pоsting!

    May 16, 2017 at 8:37 am

  9. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little
    homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch simply
    because I discovered it for him… lol. So let me reword this….
    Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending time to talk
    about this issue here on your blog.

    July 9, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

